If a matter's task is visible to a stakeholder, it is possible to attach a note to the task to update the stakeholder with any relevant information. This help article will explain this functionality in detail.
In This Article:
- What Are the Benefits of Attaching a Note to a Task?
- How Do I Add a Note to a Task?
- How Do I Edit or Delete a Note?
- Who is Able to View the Note?
- How Do I Change the Privacy Settings of a Task so that Other Stakeholders Can View the Note?
What Are the Benefits of Attaching a Note to a Task?
Attaching a note to a task becomes a form of instant communication between the relevant stakeholder(s) and yourself.
It is a useful method of updating a stakeholder of the status of a task and its matter, removing the need for a string of phone calls.
For example, if you were awaiting the return of contracts from the other side's solicitor before the matter could progress further, a note on the relevant task could update the estate agent to this. The estate agent would no longer need to make phone calls to chase this information for their client.
How Do I Add a Note to a Task?
To add a new note to a task, begin by clicking on the 'Tasks' tab within the relevant matter.
Next, scroll down the task list to the task that you wish to add the note to. Then click on the '+ Note' button as pictured below.
Input the note into the text field provided and click on the 'Save' button to complete the process.
Pictured below, is how the new note will appear on your task list.
It is possible to add multiple notes to each task.
How Do I Edit or Delete a Note?
To edit or delete the note, begin by clicking onto it.
As pictured below, this will show the note within its text field. You will now be able to make adaptations to the writing. When finished, click on the 'Save' button.
In order to remove the note from the task, click on the 'Delete' button.
Who is Able to View the Note?
Any stakeholder that the task is made visible to will be able to view the note. If you wish to change who the note is visible to, see below.
How Do I Change the Privacy Settings of a Task so that Other Stakeholders Can View the Note?
If you wish to change which stakeholders are able to view the task, this can be done within the task's privacy settings. To access the privacy settings, click on the settings cog on the right-hand side of the relevant task.
As pictured below, a list of stakeholders will be shown within the new window.
Click on the stakeholders that you wish to make the task (and, therefore, the task's note) visible to.
If you wish to make the task invisible to all stakeholders, click 'Private'.
The note is not visible to the stakeholder. Why is this?
If the note is not visible to the stakeholder, make sure that the task is made visible to them within the task's privacy settings. For assistance with this, see 'How Do I Change the Privacy Settings of a Task so that Other Stakeholders Can View the Note?' above.
The task is set to 'Private' but I want to share a note with a stakeholder. Is this possible?
No, this is not possible. A note is only visible to a stakeholder when the task is visible to the stakeholder.