Sharing documents with stakeholders
Once a document has been uploaded to a matter, it is possible to share it with any associated stakeholder. This help article will explain the relevant processes in detail.
In This Article:
- How Do I Share a Document with a Stakeholder?
- How Does the Stakeholder Access the Shared Document?
How Do I Share a Document with a Stakeholder?
Once a new document has been uploaded to a matter, begin by clicking on the 'Docs & Emails' tab within the relevant matter.
Within 'Docs & Emails', scroll down to the relevant document. To the right of the document will be a control panel, as pictured below.
By default, a document will be set to 'Private'. When using this setting, the document will be hidden from all stakeholders. You will be the only person able to access the document.
To change this setting, click on the 'Private' button. As pictured below, a new window will open.
This window will list all stakeholders associated with the matter.
Note: Additional stakeholders may appear to the ones pictured above.
Simply click on the stakeholder to make a document visible to them.
To highlight that the document is now visible to a stakeholder, the 'Private' button will now have changed to a 'Visible' button, as pictured above.
How Does the Stakeholder Access the Shared Document?
Within the stakeholder's portal is a section titled 'Documents'. Within here will be a list of documents that have been shared with the stakeholder. An example of this is pictured below.
A stakeholder simply has to click on the document to begin downloading it.
Is there a limit on the number of stakeholders that the document can be shared with?
No, the document can be shared with any stakeholder that has been associated to the matter.
If a previously 'visible' document is made 'private' again, is a stakeholder still able to access it?
No, once the document has been made invisible to the stakeholder they will no longer be able to access it.
However, it is important to note that the stakeholder will have been able to download a document at any point that it was shared with them.